Búsqueda personalizada



PRECIPICE - THE BRIDGE OF THE SIGHS - BARRANCO - EL PUENTE DE LOS SUSPIROS


Constructed in 1876 and inaugurated the 14 of February, during the government of the first Mayor of Precipice; Don Enrique Garci'a Monterroso; its construction was a fundamental necessity to unite the ends of the gorge and to allow to the passage of the shores of the Ayacucho street and the Hermitage. It supported the war of the Pacifico and was witness of the destruction of Precipice, the 14 of January of 1881, date in which Chilean troops set afire the city destroying part of the temple of the Hermitage and the Bridge, reason why was come to his reconstruction, being repaired several times.

The name of the bridge derives from the innumerable romances that they had and they have as frame this colorful barranquino corner; in 1921 the mayor Enrique of the Houses makes totally repair to be very damaged, since then he takes the name from Bridge of the Sighs. The Bridge resists the earthquake of the 1940, but trimmed being finally with 31m of length.

A tradition exists that indicates that who for the first time sees the bridge and she crosses it without breathing, will be fulfilled the desire to him that requests. The bridge served as inspiration to a famous song of the barranquina composer Chabuca Granda, titled "the Bridge of the Sighs" in 1960.

Construido en 1876 e inaugurado el 14 de febrero, durante el gobierno del primer Alcalde de Barranco; Don Enrique García Monterroso; su construcción fue una necesidad primordial para unir los extremos de la quebrada y permitir el paso de las riberas de la calle Ayacucho y la Ermita. Soportó la guerra del Pacifico y fue testigo de la destrucción de Barranco, el 14 de enero de 1881, fecha en la que tropas chilenas incendian la ciudad destruyendo parte del templo de la Ermita y el Puente, por lo que se procedió a su reconstrucción, siendo reparado varias veces.

El nombre del puente deriva de los innumerables romances que tuvieron y tienen como marco este pintoresco rincón barranquino; en 1921 el alcalde Enrique de las Casas lo hace reparar totalmente por encontrarse muy dañado, desde entonces toma el nombre de Puente de los Suspiros. El Puente resiste el terremoto del 1940, pero recortado quedando finalmente con 31m de longitud.

Existe una tradición que señala que quien por primera vez vea el puente y lo cruce sin respirar, se le cumplirá el deseo que pida. El puente sirvió de inspiración a una famosa canción de la compositora barranquina Chabuca Granda, titulada “El Puente de los Suspiros” en 1960.



EL PUENTE DE LOS SUSPIROS 01
THE BRIDGE OF THE SIGHS


EL PUENTE DE LOS SUSPIROS 02
THE BRIDGE OF THE SIGHS


EL PUENTE DE LOS SUSPIROS 03
THE BRIDGE OF THE SIGHS


EL PUENTE DE LOS SUSPIROS 04
THE BRIDGE OF THE SIGHS


EL PUENTE DE LOS SUSPIROS 05
THE BRIDGE OF THE SIGHS


EL PUENTE DE LOS SUSPIROS 06
THE BRIDGE OF THE SIGHS


IR A LA PAGINA ANTERIOR
IR AL INICIO DE LA PAGINA
IR A LA SIGUIENTE PAGINA


Web site created on march 30 of 2005.
© Copyright 2005 Gualberto Valderrama C.